Student Trip to Italy a Wonderful Success!

Just before the start of the April Recess, 14 Wheatley students and 3 faculty chaperones departed for a 10-day adventure in Sicily. The trip was a wonderful success, with highlights including the following:

Mrs. Vasselman shared some wonderful photos of the trip. Additionally, Jason Manzano (Class of 2018) created a video of the trip.

Mock Trial Team’s Wonderful Season Ends with a Tough Loss…

On Wednesday, 5 April, Wheatley’s Mock Trial team competed against the team from W.T. Clarke High School in the regional finals of this wonderful competition. Although the team did not win the match, they should all be proud of their accomplishments over these past few months. 

Congratulations, once again, to our Mock Trial Team members: Sam Avila-Frank,  Maggie Carrodo, Jacob Chimerine, Caroline Crimmins, Derek Gilbert, Jakob Gilbert, Lianna Golden, Andrew Hirsch, Brett Katz, Mahesh Pitchayan, Michelle Raja, Jacob Ribotsky, Adam Rosenzweig, Brooke Schwartz,  Rebecca Sparacio, Emily Wang and Emily Yagoda.

Thanks as well to our Mock Trial Advisor, Wheatley English teacher Theryn Gibbons.

In recognition of their wonderful accomplishments, the Nassau County winner and the runner-up finalist, our outstanding Wheatley team, will be recognized for their accomplishments at the 2017 Mock Trial Tournament Awards Reception to be held on Thursday, May 18 at 5:30 PM at the Nassau County Bar Association.

[Thanks to Ms. Gibbons for the photos from the competitions.]

The Robotics Video You Need to See!

Last week, the Wheatley CyberCats competed in the FIRST Robotics Competition at Hofstra University. Although the blog post of that competition included all sorts of photos, there was one important thing missing—a video of the robot in action!

Thanks to the fine work of CyberCat member Adam Rosenzweig (Class of 2018), we now have a terrific video compilation of the season! (Look for robot #2872 with the red bumpers!)




Wheatley Students Win Recognition at French Poetry Competition!

Five Wheatley students were rewarded for their outstanding performances at the French Poetry Competition on Wednesday, 29 March at The Portledge School in Locust Valley.

Freshman Emily Yagoda and sophomore Zachary Schloss both won first place for their recitations in their respective categories.  Emily chose to recite, “Unsaid” by Aliette Audra.  Zachary’s poem was “Correspondences” by Charles Baudelaire. 

Junior Vani Kumar won first place distinction in the upper level category for her recitation of “L’automne” by Alphonse de Lamartine.

Michelle Raja received the second place award for her recitation on “Hymne à la Beauté” also by Charles Baudelaire.

Eighth grader Manav Bansal won second place in the novice category for his recitation of “Le Cancre” by Jacques Prévert.

Wheatley French teacher J.F. Henley stated:

It is very rewarding to see the students take such an interest in poetry and apply that interest and enthusiasm to a setting such as this interscholastic competition.

This annual event is sponsored by the Nassau County Chapter of the American Association of Teachers of French and is attended by students throughout the county.  Félicitations!

[Thanks to Susan Checkla for the photo.]

French Poetry 1

Vani, Michelle, Emily, Manan and Zachary

Manan Shukla Qualifies as a Semifinalist in USA Biology Olympiad!

Last week, we were notified that Sophomore Manan Shukla qualified as a semifinalist in the USA Biology Olympiad (USABO) Open Examination. As such, Manan’s exceptional knowledge of the biological sciences helped him score in the top 10% of all students across the country.

The USA Biology Olympiad is sponsored by the Center for Excellence in Education, which first developed and administered this exam in 2002. The purpose of the exam is to help develop and train future leaders in the biological sciences.

Congratulations to Manan, and thanks to his science teachers for their support!


World Language Honor Societies Induct 48 Wheatley Students!

Earlier this evening, 48 Wheatley students were inducted into the three national language honor societies: La Société Honoraire de Français, La Società Onoraria Italica and La Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica. The purpose of these organizations is to stimulate interest in the study of these languages, to give recognition to scholarship and achievement in these languages and to promote an understanding and appreciation of the cultures and civilizations of the people who speak these languages.

In order to be eligible for induction into Wheatley’s chapters, students are required to maintain an average of at least A- for two consecutive years plus the first semester leading up to the induction ceremony. These initiates have also demonstrated interest in using the language beyond the classroom through their participation in local and national competitions, language clubs or travel experiences.

Over the course of the evening, Caroline Crimmins (Class of 2018) eloquently reflected on her Wheatley Foreign Language Experience, Vani Kumar (Class of 2018) recited “L’automne” by Charles Baudelaire, Eva Suppa recited “La Madre” by Alphonse de Lamartine, Adeel Anwar (Class of 2018) recited “Ritratto della mia bambina” by Umberto Saba,  Cecilia Jozef (Class of 2019) recited “Memoria” by Natalia Ginzburg and Kimberly Esquilín recited “La amistad,” a poem written by her grandfather.

The following students were inducted into the Société Honoraire de Français:

  • Charlotte Goldbaum
  • Kristen Leong
  • Jessica Nussdorf
  • Pricilla Prasad
  • Jamie Ryan
  • Danielle Smichok

The following students were inducted into the Società Onoraria Italica

  • Adeel Anwar
  • Paige Barrett
  • Anthony DiFiore
  • Cecilia Jozef
  • Amanda Molstad
  • Mahesh Pitchayan
  • Camellia Ye

The following students were inducted into the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica

  • Dina Aldad
  • Karan Amin
  • Tiffany Bernot
  • Julia Braito
  • Nicole Bruder
  • Nicole Buchheim
  • Megan Chau
  • Sarah Chimerine
  • Antony Deluxe
  • Lauren Druz
  • Sofia Fuertes
  • Sofia Greenfield
  • Brittney Guerra
  • Andrew Gullotta
  • Jonathan Hahami
  • Farah Hasan
  • Tiffany Jiao
  • Amanda Kim
  • Eva LaMonica
  • Lucas Miller
  • Ciara O’Brien
  • Aidan Pereira
  • Summer Puricelli
  • Samantha Rothstein
  • Brooke Schwartz
  • John Scudero
  • Manan Shukla
  • Angela Signorile
  • Joanna Signorile
  • Vedant Singh
  • Andrew Sivin
  • John Tretolo
  • Dustin Wong
  • Brandon Zhu
  • Mara Zuckerman

Congratulations to all of the inductees, and a huge “Thank You” to the World Language teachers who helped them achieve this milestone: Mrs. Joan Anderson (Department Chair), Mr. Jean-François Henley, Mrs. Julie Jacobson, Mrs. Mary Martinez, Mrs. Pilar Príncipe-Franco, Mr. Angel Rivero and Mrs. Susan Vasselman.