Students are Honored at our Annual Academic Awards Evening!

Last night, hundreds of students, family members and community members gathered in the auditorium to celebrate our students’ academic, artistic and service accomplishments.

Students receive invitations to this evening without knowing what recognition they will receive. As such, there is excitement and anticipation in the air throughout the ceremony.

Each of our academic departments presents awards to students who have excelled in classes. Additionally, there are community awards and some school-wide awards given. Some of the highlights of the evening occurred at the end with the following recognitions:

PTO Teacher of the Year

This award is voted on by parents and given by our PTO. This year’s winner was Ms. Danielle Calvagno.

Susan Bergtraum Leadership in Action Award

This award is given in recognition of the senior who best illustrates the breadth and depth of leadership demonstrated by our former parent, Board Trustee and current New York State School Boards President. The recipient of this award was Rachel Koty.

The Jim O’Brien Award

Named after a retired faculty member, this award is given to a junior who exudes honesty, integrity and a deep devotion to helping others. This year’s recipients were Bert Cumming and Lindsay Eckhoff.

PTO Recognition Award

This award is given by the PTO in recognition of a senior boy and girl who exemplify qualities such as kindness, good judgement, sincerity, dignity, good citizenship and dependability. This year’s recipients were Zachary Calabrese and Kathryn Feil.

The Wheatley Medals

These medals are given to the the senior boy and girl who have exemplified the highest standards of scholarship, ethical conduct and service to community. This year’s recipients were Jakob Gilbert and Lianna Golden.

You can view the entire program through this link: 2017 Academic Awards Night Full Program May17

Project Brasilito Delivers School Supplies to Those in Need!

In 2012 there was a massive earthquake in Costa Rica that devastated, among many other things, an elementary school. The school was demolished and is now situated in an old warehouse. The children have nothing. Sam Avila, a Wheatley junior, set up a charity called Project Brasilito to help these children.

For the last two years, the Spanish Club has been collecting school supplies for the children of this elementary school. Sam and his family bring them, along with letters that the Spanish Club members wrote, to the children each year. We plan on continuing our association with Project Brasilito for years to come, as they have a long road ahead of them. Next year we hope to be able to Skype with the children at the school!

Thanks to Julie Jacobson for her support of these students’ efforts!