Wheatley Theatre Company’s Production of “All in the Timing”a Fun-filled Event!

On this past Thursday, Friday and Saturday evening, the Wheatley Theatre Company entertained the community with a terrific production of David Ives’ All in the Timing and Time Flies. The production included a series of short vignettes:

  • “Sure Thing” was first produced at the Manhattan Punchline Theatre in New York City, in February 1988. Steve Kaplan, Artistic Director.
  • “The Philadelphia” was first produced at the 1992 New Hope Performing Arts Festival, presented by The New Hope Arts Commission, New Hope, Pennsylvania. Robin Larsen,  Executive Director.
  • “English Made Simple” was first presented at the Seattle Repertory Theatre in April 1994. Bill Irwin, Director.
  • “Philip Glass Buys a Loaf of Bread” was first produced at the Manhattan Punchline Theatre in New York City, in January 1990. Steve Kaplan, Artistic Director.
  • “The Art Of The Fugue” was first presented at the Manhattan Punchline Theatre in New York City in February 1991. Steve Kaplan, Artistic Director.
  • “Time Flies” premiered at Primary Stages in New York City, in May 1998. Casey Childs, Artistic Director.

The show was directed by faculty advisor Andrew Ardito, along with senior Lucy Brancaccio and Class of 2018 graduate Jason Manzano. Dr. Scott Eckers served as the Technical Advisor and Set Designer. Thomas Storck and Paul Chisholm served as the Stage and Tech Crew Advisors. Stephanie Clarfield and Emma Pak served as the Stage Cast Managers. Finally, Maura Calio was our Costume Designer. Thank you to all of them for the wonderful work they did o this terrific show!

Our friends at Island Photography captured Thursday’s opening night.

Kajal Kapoor is the Newest Wheatley Idol!

On Friday night, the Wheatley auditorium was filled with spectators enjoying the 14th edition of Tri-M’s Wheatley Idol! Hosted by Ashley Vincenzo and Brenda Zhong, the evening featured performances from nine incredibly talented competitors. From these nine initial competitors, four finalists were selected by our “celebrity” judges: Ms. Calvagno, Mr. Gadamowitz and Mr. Orlovsky. These four finalists then performed another song and the winner was selected by audience vote.

This year’s ten competitors were:

Charlotte Iannone

Julia Dioguardi

Sarah Amselem

Brianna Werny

Jaime Behar

Kajal Kapoor

Krittika Prajapati

Emma Melnikov

Shruti Goyal

From these nine initial competitors, the four finalists selected were: Shruti Goyal, Emma Melnikov, Kajal Kapoor and Brianna Werny! Each of these finalists performed another song for the audience.

Shruti Goyal, Round 2

Brianna Werny, Round 2

Emma Melnikov, Round 2

Kajal Kapoor, Round 2

After these three performances, the audience voted. When the vote count came in, Kajal Kapoor was declared the winner of Wheatley Idol XIV! She performed one more song for the audience:

Thank you to our Tri-M students and our Tri-M Advisor (Angela Luftig) for all of their work putting together this wonderful evening!

Here are some photos from the event: