55 Wheatley Students Inducted into the World Language Honor Societies!

On Tuesday evening, 55 Wheatley students were inducted into the three national language honor societies: La Société Honoraire de FrançaisLa Società Onoraria Italica and La Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica. The purpose of these organizations is to stimulate interest in the study of these languages, to give recognition to scholarship and achievement in these languages and to promote an understanding and appreciation of the cultures and civilizations of the people who speak these languages.

In order to be eligible for induction into Wheatley’s chapters, students are required to maintain an average of at least A- in previous years. These initiates have also demonstrated interest in using the language beyond the classroom through their participation in local and national competitions, language clubs or travel experiences.

Over the course of the evening, Pádraig Mac Brádaigh (Class of 2020) passionately reflected on his Wheatley World Language Experiences, Amir Agarwal (Class of 2023) recited “Demain dès l’aube” by Victor Hugo, Ella Suppa (Class of 2022) recited “L’Anguilla” by Eugenio Montale and Sonia Patel recited “A Pesar de todo” by Maya Angelou. We also had the great pleasure of listening to Krittika Prajapati sing When you Believe from The Prince of Egypt.

The following 14 students were inducted into the Société Honoraire de Français:

  • Amir Agarwal
  • Rachel Aquino-Okeke
  • Emma Bergsohn
  • Sophia Caputo
  • Benjamin Casella
  • Ryan Cozzolino
  • Ryan Doan
  • Jeremy Kang
  • Caitlin O’Keefe
  • Morenike Oshodi
  • Kyle Rosenberg
  • Bryan Schmuck
  • Hanna Simoes
  • Constantino Triantafillou

The following 6 students were inducted into the Società Onoraria Italica

  • Mahdi Bhalloo
  • Julianna Debellis
  • Justin Doan
  • Taylor Grabowski
  • Ella Suppa
  • Lauren Tavolacci

The following 35 students were inducted into the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica

  • Stav Agajan
  • Emma Azevedo
  • Emma Cheng
  • Olivia Ching
  • Zachary Cohen
  • Sahana Dhama
  • Lital Farahnik
  • Pavan Gabbur
  • Tobey Hirsch
  • Garima Jain
  • Steven Jarrahy
  • Faith Joshua
  • Efthymia Kaparos
  • Winston Lee
  • Riya Marchawala
  • Bryan McCleary
  • Riya Mittle
  • Tara O’Brien
  • Hallie Packin
  • Valeria Pashko
  • Sonia Patel
  • Ohm Patel
  • Tyler Richman
  • Ari Rosenberg
  • Aden Saparzadeh
  • Tara Seewaldt
  • Anushka Shorewala
  • Nikolai Sotelo
  • Jennifer Thaler
  • Christina Tsoumpariotis
  • Jessica Tu
  • Thomas Valle
  • Leah Varghese
  • Aliza Virji
  • Michael Wang

Congratulations to all of the inductees, and a huge “Thank You” to the World Language teachers who helped them achieve this milestone: Mrs. Tara Tassani (Director of World Language and ENL), Mr. Jean-François Henley, Mrs. Julie Jacobson, Mrs. Mary Martinez, Mrs. Pilar Príncipe-Franco, Mr. Angel Rivero and Mrs. Susan Vasselman!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s