Wheatley Celebrates Students and Staff at 17th Annual In Recognition of Excellence Evening!

Last night, 16 June, our 17th Annual In Recognition of Excellence dinner was held. During a very busy time of the year, this remains one of my favorite evenings. Last night was particularly special as it marked the first time this year we were able to bring together different families and staff throughout the district. We were able to do this safely because we held it “outdoors” in our Main Courtyard.

Through our students’ own voices, attendees are reminded of the deep and lasting impact our faculty has on our students’ academic, emotional and social lives. The celebration of the relationships formed and connections made is what makes for such a special evening!

With so much talent in our school, it is still possible for some students to not get the recognition that they deserve. To recognize these students, the In Recognition of Excellence award was introduced. This honor is given to a group of students who have demonstrated outstanding service to school and community, demonstrated respect and concern for fellow students, and set high expectations for themselves as they have achieved their goals.

The recipients of this award were asked to select one teacher, staff member or coach from their experiences at North Side, Willets Road, and Wheatley who had the greatest positive impact on their life.

Congratulations to our recognized students and the faculty they acknowledged:

Nadeem Al-Okla

  • David Einsidler (NS-Ret.)
  • Vanessa DiMascio (WR)
  • Steven Cadet (Wheatley)

Adam Aldad

  • Patrick Shanahan (WR)
  • Kevin Meyers (Wheatley)
  • Stanley Orlovsky (Wheatley)

Angel Chavez

  • Sharon Forrest (NS-Ret.)
  • Vanessa DiMascio (WR)
  • Steven Cadet (Wheatley)

Karen Chu

  • Lauren Cifelli (NS)
  • Scott Hoefling (WR)
  • Timothy Schwalm (Wheatley)

Stephanie Clarfield

  • Frank Bannerman (NS)
  • Patrick Shannahan (WR)
  • Patrick Clarke (Wheatley)

Sarah Hassan

  • Daria Reid (WR)
  • Jo Beth Roberts (Wheatley)
  • Birthe Seferian (Wheatley)

Ubaidullah Hassan

  • Christine Truskiewicz (NS)
  • Lynn Flynn (WR-Ret.)
  • Daniel Walsh (Wheatley)

Rayhan Meghji

  • Jeanne Rose (NS)
  • Patrick Shannahan (WR)
  • Lauren Blum (Wheatley)

Natalie Scudero

  • Sharon Forrest (NS-Ret.)
  • Lynn Flynn (WR-Ret.)
  • Robert Gadamowitz (Wheatley)

Gabriella Testani

  • Amy Potter (NS-Ret.)
  • Daria Reid (WR)
  • Gena Topping (Wheatley)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s