63 Wheatley Students Inducted into the World Language Honor Societies!

This past Thursday, 63 Wheatley students were inducted into the three national language honor societies: La Société Honoraire de FrançaisLa Società Onoraria Italica and La Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica. The purpose of these organizations is to stimulate interest in the study of these languages, to give recognition to scholarship and achievement in these languages and to promote an understanding and appreciation of the cultures and civilizations of the people who speak these languages.

In order to be eligible for induction into Wheatley’s chapters, students are required to maintain an average of at least A- in previous years. These initiates have also demonstrated interest in using the language beyond the classroom through their participation in local and national competitions, language clubs or travel experiences.

Over the course of the evening, Emily Yagoda (Class of 2020) passionately reflected on her Wheatley World Language Experiences, Anya Chabria (Class of 2021) recited “Unsaid” by Aliette Audra, Eric Ness (Class of 2021) recited “L’infinito” by Giacomo Leopardi and Dalia Savy recited “Oda a la luz encantada” by Pablo Neruda.

The following 7 students were inducted into the Société Honoraire de Français:

  • Manav Bansal
  • Anya Chabria
  • Sarah Hassan
  • Layla Jarrahy
  • Shi Jun Li
  • Kayla Roberts
  • Astha Singh

The following 5 students were inducted into the Società Onoraria Italica

  • Alexandra Castiglie
  • Jason Liu
  • Eric Ness
  • Temitope Oshodi
  • Olivia Palmieri

The following 51 students were inducted into the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica

  • Elianny Acosta
  • Adam Aldad
  • Ryan Bogan
  • Cosmo Chang
  • Deshna Chordia
  • Karen Chu
  • Stephanie Clarfield
  • Nadav Cohen
  • James Dearborn
  • Sarah Fieldman
  • Jonathan Friedrich
  • Jamie Fuller
  • Paula Gbenebitse
  • Benjamin Gilbert
  • Colleen Giunta
  • Shruti Goyal
  • Kayla Gray
  • Saad Haroon
  • Ubaidullah Hassan
  • Laura Hazelton
  • Aarushi Jain
  • Frances Kalpakis
  • Marcella Kanes
  • Pukhraj Kaur
  • Cesia Lemus-Cabrera
  • Alexandra Levine
  • Thomas Lew
  • Victor Li
  • Madeline Lindenauer
  • Rayhan Meghji
  • Emma Melnikov
  • Anika Mittle
  • Ari Mizhiritsky
  • Iman Pirzada
  • Laken Pomerantz
  • Grace Quinn
  • Kylie Ramalhete
  • Benjamin Richman
  • Arielle Rokhsar
  • Jamie Rothstein
  • Samar Saleem
  • Dalia Savy
  • Natalie Scudero
  • Neil Shah
  • Carly Silverman
  • Jasmine Singh
  • Ryan Steinberg
  • Andrew Thaler
  • Matthew Valle
  • Brianna Werny
  • Elizabeth Yuen

Congratulations to all of the inductees, and a huge “Thank You” to the World Language teachers who helped them achieve this milestone: Mrs. Joan Anderson (Department Chair), Mr. Jean-François Henley, Mrs. Julie Jacobson, Mrs. Mary Martinez, Mrs. Pilar Príncipe-Franco, Mr. Angel Rivero and Mrs. Susan Vasselman!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s