Wheatley Hosts the WAC Lighting Foundation Invitational Science Fair!

Last Sunday, 7 April, students from a dozen schools across Long Island converged on The Wheatley School for the annual WAC Lighting Foundation Invitational Science Fair! Organized and run by The Research Association, the science fair brings over 400 students together to present their research to judges from regional colleges and businesses.

The fair includes eight major categories with winners selected from projects developed and completed by students in grades 9-12. Awards and scholarships are presented to winners of First, Second and Third Places, as well as Merits and Honorable Mentions.

This year’s fair was organized by our very own Alexis Pace (Director of Science) and DJ Paulson (Research Teacher). Additional support was provided by Doreen DeAngelo. The fair could not have taken place without the incredible work of our custodial crew!

Schools participating in this invitation fair include:

  • Commack High School
  • Great Neck North High School
  • Great Neck South High School
  • Herricks High School
  • Jericho High School
  • Locust Valley High School
  • Manhasset High School
  • Paul D. Schreiber High School
  • South Side High School
  • Syosset High School
  • The Wheatley School

The Wheatley students who participated in this year’s competition include:

  • Zachary Azevedo
  • Zain Akhtar
  • Manav Bansal
  • Maggie Caroddo
  • Anya Chabria
  • Matthew Cornacchia and Jacob Mohebban
  • Aisvaryaa Dhama
  • Hitangee Jain
  • Sahil Jain
  • Viraj Jayam
  • Sanjana Khana
  • Teddy Koutsoftas
  • Eliana Li
  • Karen Li and Victor Li
  • Emma Melnikov
  • Armaan Pahuja
  • Hailey Ramalhete
  • Diya Shah
  • Jaina Shah
  • Arham Sheraz and Ubaidullah Hassan
  • Vedant Singh
  • Ashley Vincenzo
  • Kenton Wu
  • Brandon Zhu

Wheatley students earned the following recognition:

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Category

  • 2nd Place: Karen Li and Victor Li (“TP53 Mutations as Potential Prognostic Markers for Specific Cancers”)

General Biology Category

  • 1st Place: Manav Bansal (“Developing an in vitro Model to Study MPI Deficiency in Human Stellate Cell Activation and Potential Role of Autophagy”)

Behavioral and Social Science Category

  • 3rd Place: Anya Chabria (“A New Look at Writing: Investigating the Presence of Fractal Patterns in the Sentence Structures of Various Acclaimed Texts”)

Chemistry Category

  • Honorable Mention: Vedant Singh (“Analyzing the Effects of Graphene-Loading and 3-D Printing on the Thermal Conductivity and Viscosity of Poly(propylene)”)

Earth and Environmental Sciences Category

  • Honorable Mention: Hitangee Jain (“Effects of Pyrabactin and Abscisic on pre-irradiated Brassica Rapa seeds”)

Prototype Engineering Group

  • Honorable Mention: Matthew Cornacchia and Jacob Mohebban (Effects of Air Compression on the Levitation Ability of Magnet Levitation Trains)

Congratulations to all of the participants!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s