Wheatley Students Succeed at Long Island Mathematics Fair!

On Friday afternoon, 17 Wheatley students headed to Hofstra University in order to compete in the annual Mathematics Fair. Students competing included:

Grade 9

  • Manav Bansal (“Taylor, Power and Geometric Series”)
  • Anya Chabria (“Fractal Geometry: The Mathematics Uniting the Universe”)
  • Sarah Hassan (“The Biostatistics and Epidemiology Involved in Determining Disease Patterns”)
  • Viraj Jayam (“Projecting Onto the Generalized n-Sphere via Stereographic Projections”)
  • Eric Ness (“System of Numerations through History”)

Grade 10

  • Madison Ramos (“The Mathematics Behind Magic”)
  • Diya Shah (“Boolean Algebra”)
  • Rebecca Sparacio (“Determining the Association between Extracurricular Activity Participation and Performance on the SAT and ACT; An Observational Study”)
  • Trenton Wong (“Approximating Pi”)
  • Emily Yagoda (“The Math Behind Bitcoin and Cryptocurrencies”)
  • Sharon Zhong (“Finding the Figure for Foundational Failure”)

Grade 11

  • Manan Shukla (“The Banach-Tarski paradox”)
  • Vedant Singh (“Using Optimization to Increase Production Efficiency”)

Grade 12

  • Sufia Ainechi (“The Tipping Point of Buildings”)
  • Michaela Balboni (“The Fractal Component of Fibonacci’s Spiral and the Balboni Spiral”)
  • Abhishek Kumar (“Performance of a Parallelized Restricted Boltzman Machine”)
  • Justin Vega (“Using Mathematical Modeling to Calculate Neutron Cross-Sections Probability Distributions for Reactions on Zero-Spin Nuclei”)

While the aforementioned students were presenting their research, Maryrose Ambrose and Robert Teseo served as judges.

At the end of the competition, 9 Wheatley students earned Gold Medals, 3 Wheatley students earned Silver Medals and 5 Wheatley students earned Bronze Medals. Congratulations to the following medal winners:

Gold Medal Winners

  • Sufia Ainechi
  • Manav Bansal
  • Sarah Hassan
  • Viraj Jayam
  • Manan Shukla
  • Sharon Zhong

Silver Medal Winners

  • Michaela Balboni
  • Anya Chabria
  • Madison Ramos
  • Justin Vega

Bronze Medal Winners

  • Abhishek Kumar
  • Eric Ness
  • Diya Shah
  • Vedant Singh
  • Rebecca Sparacio

Thanks to Mr. Teseo, we have some photos from the competition!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s