59 Students Inducted into World Language Honor Societies!

Earlier this evening, 48 Wheatley students were inducted into the three national language honor societies: La Société Honoraire de Français, La Società Onoraria Italica and La Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica. The purpose of these organizations is to stimulate interest in the study of these languages, to give recognition to scholarship and achievement in these languages and to promote an understanding and appreciation of the cultures and civilizations of the people who speak these languages.

In order to be eligible for induction into Wheatley’s chapters, students are required to maintain an average of at least A- for two consecutive years plus the first semester leading up to the induction ceremony. These initiates have also demonstrated interest in using the language beyond the classroom through their participation in local and national competitions, language clubs or travel experiences.

Over the course of the evening, Ciara O’Brien and Dustin Wong (Class of 2019) eloquently reflected on their Wheatley World Language Experiences, Danielle Smichok (Class of 2019) recited “Quand tu dors” by Jacques Prévert, Patrick Brady (Class of 2019) recited “In Morte del Fratello Giovanni” by Ugo Foscolo and Tiffany Jiao recited her original poem, “Un mundo maravilloso místico.”

The following 7 students were inducted into the Société Honoraire de Français:

  • Alex ArbitalJacoby
  • Robert Boubour
  • Maggie Caroddo
  • Madison Ramos
  • Trenton Wong
  • Emily Yagoda
  • Brenda Zhong

The following 8 students were inducted into the Società Onoraria Italica

  • Emily Blumberg
  • Patrick Brady
  • Peter Cuomo
  • Eliana Li
  • Victoria Mora
  • Brooke Rubenstein
  • Dean Sheinman
  • Ashley Vincenzo

The following 44 students were inducted into the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica

  • Rahul Ajmera
  • Alison Amarain
  • Kavina Amin
  • Kaya Amin
  • Isabel Avila
  • Zachary Azevedo
  • Brandon Behar
  • Alyssa Belle
  • Patrick Brady
  • Brooke Christman
  • Jacquelen Daniels
  • Deana Druz
  • Jenna Fey
  • Norah Gidanian
  • Emily Gothelf
  • Alex Horowitz
  • Hitangee Jain
  • Sahil Jain
  • Viraj Jayam
  • Megan Kaye
  • Jason Koty
  • Theodore Koutsoftas
  • Matthew Kreitzer
  • Hema Kumar
  • Rachel Lee
  • Karen Li
  • Ari Ostad
  • Natalia Potrapeluk
  • Orell Rayhan
  • Avinash Reddy
  • Tyler Schore
  • Isabella Rios
  • Jayda Rubino
  • Diya Shah
  • Jaylyn Soleimani
  • Kiran Shaikh
  • Rebecca Sparacio
  • Erin Wu
  • Justin Wu
  • Kenton Wu
  • Alia Yamin
  • Rebecca Zeltsman
  • Allison Zheng
  • Sharon Zhong

Congratulations to all of the inductees, and a huge “Thank You” to the World Language teachers who helped them achieve this milestone: Mrs. Joan Anderson (Department Chair), Mr. Jean-François Henley, Mrs. Julie Jacobson, Mrs. Mary Martinez, Mrs. Pilar Príncipe-Franco, Mrs. Daria Reid, Mr. Angel Rivero and Mrs. Susan Vasselman!

This video doesn’t exist

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s