Foreign Language Honor Societies Induct 66 Wheatley Students!

Earlier this evening, 66 Wheatley students were inducted into the three national language honor societies: La Société Honoraire de Français, La Società Onoraria Italica and La Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica. The purpose of these organizations is to stimulate interest in the study of these languages, to give recognition to scholarship and achievement in these languages and to promote an understanding and appreciation of the cultures and civilizations of the people who speak these languages.

In order to be eligible for induction into Wheatley’s chapters, students are required to maintain an average of at least A- for two consecutive years plus the first semester leading up to the induction ceremony. These initiates have also demonstrated interest in using the language beyond the classroom through their participation in local and national competitions, language clubs or travel experiences.

Over the course of the evening, Lianna Golden (Class of 2017) eloquently reflected on her Wheatley Foreign Language Experience, Vani Kumar (Class of 2018) recited “Harmonie du soir” by Charles Baudelaire, Eva Suppa recited “La Madre” by Giuseppe Ungaretti and Sana Haroon recited “Todas ibamos a ser reinas” by Gabriela Mistral.

The following students were inducted into the Société Honoraire de Français:

  • Ally Kim
  • Vani Kumar
  • Hunter Schore

The following students were inducted into the Società Onoraria Italica

  • Rikki Gassman
  • Aleena Jangda
  • Jason Manzano
  • Christopher Santoli
  • Eva Suppa

The following students were inducted into the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica

  • Maya Alfia
  • Adeel Anwar
  • Hallie ArbitalJacoby
  • Hailey Ardizzone
  • Ananya Bansal
  • Sydney Behar
  • Rachel Bergsohn
  • Brett Bloomberg
  • Jake Bogan
  • Devin Brancato
  • Kimberly Calamia
  • Jacob Chimerine
  • Jona Chorost
  • Caroline Crimmins
  • Bert Cumming
  • Olivia DeLay
  • Meaghan Doherty
  • Kimberly Esquilin
  • William Feil
  • Emily Freund
  • Rachel Fuzaylov
  • Roxane Ghadami
  • Remi Goldfarb
  • Jack Goldman
  • Sana Haroon
  • Jessica Hastings
  • Robert Hazelton
  • Jamie Horowitz
  • Jessica Igoe
  • Taliah Ilyadi
  • Shannon Judge
  • Charlotte Kaminsky
  • Alexandra Kasparian
  • Brett Katz
  • Megan Kirschner
  • Megan Klein
  • Jamie Konigsberg
  • Christopher Kosel
  • Abhishek Kumar
  • Mitchell Lin
  • Qinhan Ma
  • Juliana Mendes
  • Sacha Moradof
  • Aamir Muneer
  • Alexandra Ostad
  • Hannah Ostad
  • Giavanna Papavero
  • Erin Patterson
  • William Richman
  • Jesse Romano
  • Talia Rosen
  • John Shen
  • Saman Suleman
  • Emily Wang
  • Carol Wu
  • Jeffrey Wu
  • Anne Yan
  • Alice Ye

Congratulations to all of the inductees, and a huge “Thank You” to the Foreign Language teachers who helped them achieve this milestone: Mrs. Joan Anderson (Department Chair), Mr. Jean-François Henley, Mrs. Julie Jacobson, Ms. Diana Kesselman, Mrs. Mary Martinez, Mrs. Pilar Príncipe-Franco, Mr. Angel Rivero and Mrs. Susan Vasselman.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s