Foreign Language Honor Societies Induct 56 Students!

On Monday evening, 56 Wheatley students were inducted into the three national language honor societies: La Société Honoraire de Français, La Società Onoraria Italica and La Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica. The purpose of these organizations is to stimulate interest in the study of these languages, to give recognition to scholarship and achievement in these languages and to promote an understanding and appreciation of the cultures and civilizations of the people who speak these languages. In order to be eligible for induction, students are required to maintain an average of at least A- for two consecutive years plus the first semester leading up to the induction ceremony. These initiates have also demonstrated interest in using the language beyond the classroom through their participation in local and national competitions, language clubs or travel experiences.

Stephanie Fink (Class of 2015), who is already a member of the Spanish and French Honor Societies, received special recognition for being inducted into her 3rd language honor society, La Società Onoraria Italiaca.

Current members of the three honor societies who assisted during the induction included: Alexandra Boubour (Class of 2015), Sabrina Lee (Class of 2015), Daniel Singh (Class of 2016) and Andrew Schloss (Class of 2016).

The following students were inducted into the Société Honoraire de Français:

  • Ariana Arralde
  • Pedro Lamarre

The following students were inducted into the Società Onoraria Italica

  • Madison D’Ambrosio
  • Laura D’Angelo
  • Antonio Deodato
  • Stephanie Fink
  • Brittany Haber
  • Gretchen Keller
  • Antonio Liparoto
  • Raffaela Palmieri
  • Angela Yang

The following students were inducted into the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica

  • Sanjay Allahdad
  • Isabella Araujo
  • Samuel Avila
  • Claire Baker
  • Benjamin Barnett
  • Rebecca Besada
  • Carly Brensilber
  • Stephanie Buchheim
  • Brianna Clarfield
  • Alana Conroy
  • Joseph Dinetz
  • Kathryn Feil
  • Lauren Frantz
  • Nirel Gidanian
  • Lianna Golden
  • Samuel Goldman
  • Zachary Groveman
  • Samantha Hurtado
  • Alexa Kamberg
  • Rebecca Khorsandi
  • Jacob Klee
  • Rachel Koty
  • Nirav Kumar
  • Allison LaMonica
  • Diana Lee
  • Ashley Lessen
  • Lauren Levine
  • Allison Levy
  • Theodore Lewis
  • Michelle Lin
  • Gil Lotzky
  • Alexa Mizhiritsky
  • Dylan Nektalov
  • Darren Novel
  • Ashley Nussbaum
  • Jax Nussbaum
  • Sumu Pitchayan
  • Austin Pomerantz
  • Victoria Roldan
  • Taylor Ribotsky
  • Jennifer Spar
  • Justin Spar
  • Justin Vega
  • Micki Wain
  • Joshua Wolff

Congratulations to all of the inductees, and a huge “Thank You” to the Foreign Language teachers who helped them achieve this milestone: Mrs. Joan Anderson, Mr. Jean-François Henley, Mrs. Julie Jacobson, Mrs. Mary Martinez, Mrs. Pilar Príncipe-Franco, Mr. Angel Rivero and Mrs. Susan Vasselman.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s