Fall Athletic Teams Celebrated at the Sports Awards Evening!

At Tuesday’s Fall Sports Awards Evening, student-athletes and teams were celebrated in a packed auditorium. Under the leadership of Tom Fitzpatrick, the district’s Athletic Director, Wheatley was able to announce that 41 student-athletes were been recognized by Section VIII-Nassau County Interscholastic Athletic Association for their exceptional performance in athletics, scholarship, and leadership qualities for the Fall 2014 season.

All of Wheatley’s Fall teams were recognized as New York State Scholar/Athlete Team Award winners.

Awards and Recognition

Ashley Lessen earned All-State recognition in Tennis for the second consecutive year. Maura Koszalka was recognized as a News 12 Scholar Athlete for 2014-2015. For the second consecutive year the Girls Soccer team was Nassau County Class B Champions and Long Island finalists. The Boys Soccer team was Nassau County Class B Champions and Long Island finalists.

Throughout their high school career, these athletes demonstrated outstanding athletic and scholastic ability that has earned them a well-deserved reputation as leaders among their peers.


  • Andrew Hastings, All County
  • Luis Costa, All Conference
  • Craig Mazzeo, All Conference

Field Hockey (Scholar Athlete Team)

  • Samantha Palazzolo, All Conference
  • Perri Schreiber, Scholar Athlete
  • Perri Schreiber, Exceptional Senior
  • Carly Brensilber, Unsung Hero

Girls Cross Country (Scholar Athlete Team)

  • Morgan Hanel, All County State Qualifier
  • Morgan Hanel, All Conference
  • Katie Keller, All Conference State Qualifier
  • Leigh Anderson, All Conference State Qualifier
  • Alexa Georgeton, State Qualifier

Boys Cross Country (Scholar Athlete Team)

  • Jordan Weinstock, All Conference State Qualifier
  • Zach Calabrese, All Conference State Qualifier
  • Devin Brancato, State Qualifier

Girls Soccer (Scholar Athlete Team)

  • Alana Leahy, All County
  • Adena Bernot, All Class B
  • Jade Marcus, All Class B
  • Ally LaMonica, All Conference
  • Rachel Jozef, All Conference
  • Jade Marcus, Scholar Athlete

Boys Soccer (Scholar Athlete Team)

  • Josh Bergsohn, All County
  • Pedro Lamarre, All County
  • Brendan Doherty, Honorable Mention All County
  • Ethan Bloomberg, All Conference
  • Brendon Cervone, All Conference
  • Ethan Bloomberg, Scholar Athlete

Girls Volleyball (Scholar Athlete Team)

  • Maura Koszalka, All Conference
  • Cara Mattioli, All Conference
  • Maura Koszalka, Scholar Athlete

Girls Tennis (Scholar Athlete Team)

  • Ashley Lessen, All State
  • Ashley Lessen, All County
  • Madison D’Ambrosio, All Conference
  • Jillian Breslin, All Conference
  • Brittany Grovemen, All Division
  • Jill Gothelf, All Division
  • Courtney Schwartz, All Division
  • Kelsey Shields, All Division
  • Sabrina Lee, All Division
  • Danielle Krueger, All Division
  • Samantha Lessen, All Division


2014 Fall Sports Award Recipients

Varsity Football:

  • Wildcat Award: Andrew Hastings
  • Coach’s Award: Luis Costa
  • Unsung Hero: Josh Jacobs

JV Football:

  • Spirit Award: Sahaj Gulati
  • Spirit Award: Dean Mattioli

Varsity Girls Cross Country:

  • Wildcat Award: Morgan Hanel
  • Coach’s Award: Leigh Anderson
  • Unsung Hero: Katherine Keller

Varsity Boys Cross Country:

  • Wildcat Award: Zach Calabrese
  • Coach’s Award: Jordan Weinstock
  • Unsung Hero: Neil Shahdadpuri

Varsity Boys Soccer:

  • Wildcat Award: Brendan Doherty
  • Coach’s Award: Brandon Goldberg
  • Unsung Hero: Evan Mattioli

JV Boys Soccer:

  • Spirit Award: Hector Ferreira
  • Spirit Award: Steven John

Varsity Girls Tennis:

  • Wildcat Award: Kelsey Shields
  • Coach’s Award: Madison D’Ambrosio
  • Unsung Hero: Courtney Schwartz

JV Girls Tennis:

  • Spirit Award: Michelle Lin
  • Spirit Award: Alexa Mizhritsky
  • Wildcat Award: Samantha Palazzolo
  • Coach’s Award: Perri Schreiber
  • Unsung Hero: Taylor Keenan

Varsity Girls Soccer:

  • Coach’s Award: Dani Wasserman
  • Unsung Hero: Brianna O’Brien
  • Unsung Hero: Hannah Woodward

JV Girls Soccer:

  • Spirit Award: Nicole Hetzel
  • Spirit Award: Olivia DeLay

Varsity Girls Volleyball:

  • Wildcat Award: Maura Koszalka
  • Coach’s Award: Lauren Hogg
  • Coach’s Award: Olivia Braito

JV Girls Volleyball:

  • Spirit Award: Ananya Bansal
  • Spirit Award: Lianna Golden

Thanks to Tom Fitzpatrick for the student and team listings!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s